Tag Archives: databases

Welcome, Grade 9 Geographers!

In your library class today, you will be learning about all of the great sources available to you for geography research.  This research activity requires you to use a Google Form, which you access by clicking the link below and entering your tdsb email address.

If you have not activated your tdsb email address, here’s what you have to do:

1. Log on to a computer.

2. Click on the AW link on the desktop.

3. Click on the Mail tab and follow the prompts to set up your account.  Your address will be firstname.lastname@tdsb.on.ca

Now, about that research activity.  Make sure that you follow all instructions carefully and record answers fully in order to receive full marks!

Click here: Best Sources for Geography Know-How



Canadian Student Research Centre

This database is perfect for all your research needs: enter a broad search, narrow by publication or subject, and you’ve got yourself some really useful resources!  This database, also known as the Canadian Reference Centre, is huge.  From their site:

Canadian Reference Centre combines Canadian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books to create the largest collection of regional full text content available to Canadian libraries. This database includes leading Canadian periodicals and international (U.S. and U.K) periodicals in full text; full text reference books; over 87,900 full text biographies and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps, and flags. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Click here to access it from school.  If you are at home, make sure you have the Virtual Library passwords from the library.