Category Archives: databases

Academic Research with MPC and TPL, FTW!

Finding scholarly articles that are accessible and usable can be a challenge, but your MPC library’s got you.

  1. Pick up a bookmark with passwords (or follow links to them on the TDSB library site) and explore Advanced Placement Database on the TDSB Virtual Library (Click Search A-Z Databases).  Remember to narrow your search to “Full Text” and “Peer-Reviewed.”
  2. Get out your Toronto Public Library card and head over to J-Stor,  a huge database of archived and almost-new academic resources.  Use the same search limitations and play with your search modifiers in the “Advanced Search” option.
  3. Cite it all!  Most databases have a citation formulated for you, so you can simply copy and paste it into your Works Cited list.  Use OWL Purdue to keep your APA citation style on point, and you’re well on your way to researching like a pro!

Check out the TDSB Virtual Library

Visit our virtual collection online.  You can access it on the menu above under Library Resources and Catalogue, Encyclopedias, and Databases. It’s much easier to use than before, and you can access all the same resources more quickly.

icon_catalogue[1]Our catalogue for books and resources in our collection is now on the top left. Go here to find the location of a book in Non-fiction, Fiction, Reader’s Picks or Graphic Novels.

icon_quickFindsEncyclopedia Britannica is now under quick finds and is your fastest way to good, reliable information on a number of topics. CultureGrams and some video sources are also here.

icon_searchAll our databases and resources are now combined in one unified search engine.  You start by choosing grades 9-12 at the bottom of the page. You can still access the databases one at a time, as in the past, using A-Z databases.

icon_spacesmyBlueprint is moved to Spaces-Teens-Your Future. In the Teen Space you can also find the Community Involvement Form and OEN Lookup.

icon_inquiryCitation helps are found by expanding Inquiry – Citation on the left, or through the citation button on the Inquiry tile, but don’t click directly on Inquiry because you can’t access the citation helps there.

icon_francaisFrench resources are much more conveniently grouped together under Français. Access to french encyclopedias, eBooks and games is now available with one click.

icon_publicLibraryDon’t forget the Public Library for your 8 free movie rentals a month, and a much larger collection of magazines, eBooks, and book reviews that are all available online.

You’ll find that the new Virtual Library is much easier to use, since the most popular resources are all one click away. If you can’t find something, or if you would like to see something on our mpclibrary.ca homepage, just ask.  There’ll be more to come in the weeks ahead.

You don’t have to wait for your class to come to the library.  Stop in for a visit as soon as you want, periods 1-3 on a spare, or outside class time. We have a great space and we’re here to help you.

Grade 9 Business at Your Library

As a class, we will go over the concepts of plagiarism, academic honesty, and citations, as well as reliable sources.  We will use this handout on Citation for Beginners to guide our discussion, and view the tutorial by Acadia University called “You Quote It, You Note It”.

On your computer, you will review reliable sources by doing this activity:

Online Scavenger Hunt for BTT

Then you will practice your citation skills by doing this activity:

Computer Citation Practice for BTT

Your name is collected along with your responses for both activities; you will be assessed!

 

To review what you have learned, check out Research Tutorial’s video on In-text Citations.

Check out our new catalogue

image002Our new online library catalogue system is up and running. It is the first link on the virtual library page. You can access it under Library Resources above.

Some new features are web access from anywhere, book covers, location aids, social media, and direct access to eBooks. We also have better visibility for new books and popular titles. Let us know what you think.

History Research made Easy

There are so very many great sources for researching history — in other words, you have no excuse for using some cheap, off-brand website with no author or publication date.  Use the library handout for all your superior quality, name brand sources. Also, pick up our passwords “learnmark” to help you explore the databases and other paid-for sources at home.

Canadian Student Research Centre

This database is perfect for all your research needs: enter a broad search, narrow by publication or subject, and you’ve got yourself some really useful resources!  This database, also known as the Canadian Reference Centre, is huge.  From their site:

Canadian Reference Centre combines Canadian magazines, newspapers, newswires and reference books to create the largest collection of regional full text content available to Canadian libraries. This database includes leading Canadian periodicals and international (U.S. and U.K) periodicals in full text; full text reference books; over 87,900 full text biographies and an Image Collection of over 502,000 photos, maps, and flags. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Click here to access it from school.  If you are at home, make sure you have the Virtual Library passwords from the library.